My Favs:«Unforgettable Wedding Gowns» exhibition

Are you planning to come to Portugal between June 7th and September 7th? Don’t miss the original and ephemeral exhibition launched by my cousin Diana d’Orléans. Discover in a singular place Unforgettable Wedding Gowns and their accessoires created by the most brilliant master icons of Haute Couture and get lost in the historical and classified city of Évora.

https://www.facebook.com/PalacioCadaval
http://www.PalacioCadaval.com

 

Press Release:

image expo

The Duchess of Cadaval is honoured to host the exhibition “Unforgettable Wedding Gowns” at the Cadaval Palace’s private Church, in Évora.

This singular exhibition has been conceived by Hubert de Givenchy, himself one of the very few master icons of Haute Couture that highly contributed for the history of fashion and costumes in the 20th century with his creations which delighted many very elegant symbols, as the Duchess of Windsor, the actress Audrey Hepburn or the American First Lady Jackie Kennedy.

Hubert de Givenchy, a personal and a lifetime friend of the Duchess of Cadaval, imagined this exhibition exclusively for one of the most appreciated private churches of Portugal – the Church of Saint John Evangelist in the Cadaval Palace – which is decorated, floor to ceiling, with the most magnificent blue and white tiles, dated 1711. Furthermore, the spectacular golden main altar, in the Mannerist style, was an inspiration for Givenchy’s project.

The Unforgettable Wedding Gowns and their accessoires, to be presented in Évora, a Portuguese historical city classified World Heritage, will be dressed on exclusive haute couture dummies and will be exhibited on made to measure podiums and in an atmosphere specially created for the occasion. The singular atmosphere of an unforgettable wedding day in a noble palace’s church…!

The exhibition will be showing from June 7th to September 7th, a time of year when Évora is visited by many tourists from all over the world – China, Japan, France, Spain, England, Belgium, just to mention the largest represented nationalities, but also Brasilians and thousands of Portuguese from all over the country.

Powering the wedding theme that is not only a fascinating subject, but also one that generates a significant volume of business worldwide, this exhibition hosted by the Duchess of Cadaval will certainly attract the attention of the international media, not only for having been conceived by Hubert de Givenchy – who will be present at its opening! – but also for its unique location and for showing pieces of art. Handcrafted in the most prestigious haute couture sanctuaries and that have never been seen by the public…

Menu

Mon coup de cœur : l’exposition «Unforgettable Wedding Gowns»

De passage au Portugal entre le 7 juin et le 7 septembre ? Ne manquez pas l’exposition originale et éphémère organisée par ma cousine Diana d’Orléans. Découvrez dans un lieu unique les plus belles robes de mariée créées par des couturiers exceptionnels. Occasion aussi pour visiter la charmante ville d’Évora, classée au patrimoine mondial.

https://www.facebook.com/PalacioCadaval
http://www.PalacioCadaval.com

Communiqué de presse :

image expoLa duchesse de Cadaval est honorée de présenter l’exposition «Unforgettable Wedding Gowns» au sein de l’église privée du Palais Cadaval, à Évora.

Cette exposition unique a été conçue par Hubert de Givenchy, lui-même une des rares icônes de la Haute Couture ayant contribué fortement à l’histoire de la mode et des costumes du XXème siècle. Ses créations ont enchanté de nombreux symboles de l’élégance, tels que la duchesse de Windsor, l’actrice Audrey Hepburn ou même la Première dame des Etats-Unis, Jackie Kennedy.

Hubert de Givenchy, ami de longue date de la duchesse de Cadaval, a imaginé cette exposition exclusivement pour Evora. L’église de Saint Jean l’Évangéliste, située dans le Palais Cadaval est l’une des églises privées les plus réputées du Portugal ; elle est décorée, du sol au plafond, par de magnifiques azulejos de couleur bleue et blanche, datés de 1711. En outre, le spectaculaire autel doré, dans le style maniériste, a également été une source d’inspiration pour le projet.

Les robes de mariées et leurs accessoires, qui seront exposées à Évora, une ville historique portugaise classée au patrimoine mondial, seront présentées sur des mannequins de haute couture, et installées sur des podiums sur-mesure, dans une atmosphère spécialement créé pour l’occasion…. L’atmosphère singulière d’une journée de mariage inoubliable dans l’église d’un palais noble…

L’exposition se tiendra du 7 juin au 7 septembre 2015. A cette période de l’année, Évora est une destination privilégiée pour de nombreux touristes du monde entier, venant de Chine, du Japon, de France, d’Espagne, d’Angleterre et de Belgique, pour ne citer que les plus grand nationalités représentées, mais aussi pour les brésiliens et des milliers de portugais de tout le pays.

Le thème du mariage est non seulement un sujet fascinant, mais il représente un secteur économique très important dans le monde entier. Cette exposition organisée par la Duchesse de Cadaval va certainement attirer l’attention des médias internationaux, non seulement pour avoir été conçue par Hubert de Givenchy – qui sera présent lors de l’ouverture! – mais aussi car elle présentera des «oeuvres d’art» jamais vues par le public.

Menu